That Brave Girl

Artwork and Pictures 074
this is not the one i am entering. this is titled “Angry Daughter”.

The decision to enter my painting in an art show at a real art gallery was easy to make. I believe I am being motivated by fear, having learned while Pops was in hospital that I will basically be destitute after he dies or if he must be placed in a home. I had always hoped that I could make a living with my art, knew I could, really, but I never wanted to let anyone see it. It isn’t that I am ashamed, it is just so personal. That is my heart on the canvas, my veins torn open, my blood on the page.

I never wanted to sell out. to allow complete strangers to dissect my innermost thoughts, to critique my self expression. My life has been so full of can’ts:

You aren’t a boy, Susan. You can’t play ball like that.

You can’t just draw from your imagination- you must be trained properly.

You can’t go to art school, it is not realistic.

You are too sensitive, you can’t take everything to heart.

YES I CAN!!!!

The latest critic in my life is an elderly aunt, who believes she has my best interest at heart by terrifying me about my future. She wan’ts me to look into selling my antiques, selling my china, selling my whole sense of home and safety in preparation for the big nothingness that she keeps reminding me that looms ahead when Dad dies.

I try very hard to be smilingly pleasant on the phone with her, but it is the most negative words she can say. She totally does not understand my bipolar disorder or depression. I absolutely CAN NOT focus on what MIGHT happen. I will dwell on it, I will obsess about it, and if I am not careful, I will drink and drug over it. Her constant warnings of doom will be a self fulfilling prophecy for me.

Afterward
Afterward

I was on my own for many years without any material possessions, and those were some of the most meaningful years of my life. Meaningful in that I learned how to survive happily with nothing, that I appreciated every single meal, blanket, pot, pan, article of clothing, tree, water faucet, sunrise- and every single human being who crossed my path.

I was much younger, sure, but I learned how to SURVIVE. And I succeeded.

Jesus had no place to lay his head- he lived by faith. He lived free, and appreciated all His Father’s blessings. He did not fear not knowing where he would sleep, what he would eat, and the Bible counsels us to follow in his footsteps.Picture 012

I do not want to sell Mom’s china, and I won’t. If I have to eat dog food on it in the dark, then that is what I will do. I will use my considerable brain function to keep my head above the proverbial water, but not by selling the things I hold dear, or by giving into fear of what may or may not happen.blue luster ware, bavaria 257

virginia rose antique china
virginia rose antique china
Cleo 1-31-12 072
after I lost 70 pounds in 2010! (now I have to lose it again!!)

books 178 books 173

If something good can come out of my anger at her doubt in me, it is that I am taking a leap of faith and taking my painting to the Gallery.

And I might just take a binder on my writings to an editor while I am at it!

So thank you Auntie Doubtful for the motivation. I remember that I am still the brave girl who jumped on a freight train and rode across Arizona, hitchhiked through 6 states, dumpster dove for greasy Mcdonald’s burgers, and that they tasted like T-bones!

I am the brave girl who worked 27 jobs in 25 years, rigged for the crane building Missle Silos, worked with Belgians and Shires and Clydesdales and Andalusians, and groomed the Atlanta Police department’s horses, learned to decorate cakes and operate forklifts, did lawn maintenance and worked on the tip of an island in the Atlantic. I have befriended train tramps and illegal immigrants, and helped a 15 year old Mexican kid hide in a grain car to get to his uncle’s house, his only relative in this world! I have accepted gifts of food, and given some, accepted rides and given many, and I have loved and believed in the very best of my fellow man, and I also believe in myself.

I am the brave girl who survived rape ad beatings, being stabbed and shot at, falling in holes and having horses roll on me, having a riding lawnmower flip over on me, divorcing a dangerous man, jail, drug addiction, alcoholism, hepatitis C, and the death of my beloved Mom, and losing my sanity, and I am still standing, even if it is crooked.

I am that brave girl, and I am a survivor.100_1559100_1629

That Brave Girl!
That Brave Girl!

Author: ST Martin

I am an Artist, Poet and Author. I am so much more than this: I feel like a tiny seed that sprouted in a desert, and now has grown into a Passion Vine. My Art is my Voice, Screaming, Crying, Praying, Loving, Laughing, Healing- all in Riotous Color...

Leave a comment

Faded Houses Green

Almost Meaningful

Mallaband-Brown

New paintings and regular art updates.

Silent Songs of Sonsnow

"I have enough time to rest, but I don't have a minute to waste". Come and catch me with your wise words and we will have some fun with our words of wisdom.

Just Poetry

and everything else...

Tony A. Blue

American artist - expressionist painter

Daydreaming as a profession

Daydreaming and then, maybe, writing a poem about it. And that's my life.

Zettl Fine Arts

Fine Arts Blog

emotionspassion.com

Emotional musings

she wrote

liv | poetry | 1997

COLORFUL SISTERS

Traveling Fashion Designers 🌼

Into the Unknown

all journeys start from the within

LikesInternetMarketing.com

Digital marketing blog with articles on affiliate marketing, digital marketing and how to make money online without personally selling anything.

quotidian

Evolving Thoughts

CheChe's Journal

Writerly musings.

Maria Vincent Robinson

Photographer Of Life and moments

gauribellad.com/

Mental & Spiritual Wellness Blog

Becoming is Superior to Being

I come closest to succeeding by sharing.

Keys' Sparks

Igniting the fire in you

Ken Hallett Blog

Writing Lostness

Virtual Marionette

Your eyes, my lines.

One Mountain at a Time

personal anecdotes on keeping faith, hope, and love during life’s most challenging times

Rain Coast Review

Thoughts on life... by Donald B. Wilson

The Everything Blurps.

Thoughts and tales of silly adventures for basic amusement.

Dr. Eric Perry’s Blog

Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

My Serene Words

seeking solace in the horizon of life and beyond

Izabell Key

breathe to write

Chai and ChaCha

Chai & Chacha

Lluís Bussé

Barcelona's Multiverse | Art | Culture | Science

BeautyBeyondBones

Because we’re all recovering from something.

Susan T. Martin

Visionaria

Sincerely Sober

Living & Loving My Sober Life!

The Alchemist's Studio

Raku pottery, vases, and gifts

The Wind

blowing thru my BIPOLAR life...

Cloud being

Collection of stories, experiences and characters ✨

Invitation to the Garden

gardens, garden history, garden tours, landscape design, herbs, perennials, roses, Southern culture, Southern cuisines, travel

~Borderline~I~Am~

Hey, Nice to meet all of you, my name is Heather. I have BPD. I am here to share my everyday struggles with you, be a support for you, and I am here to chat with you if you want to chat...:)

maggiemaeijustsaythis

through the darkness there is light

@BipolarUs

FollowUs @BipolarUs: A Global Bipolar Support Group • twitter.com/BipoIarUs • BipoIarUs.tumblr.com • facebook.com/BipoIarUs • instagram.com/BipoIarUs • BipoIarUs@outlook.com

Jeyna Grace

A Story Begins